Blueberry & Lemon: A Match Made in Heaven

Fresh-BlueberriesIt’s blueberry season!  After eating my fill of freshly picked handfuls of berries, I start thinking about what I can make with them.  This year I’ve tried two new recipes: Naturally Fermented Soda and Very Blueberry-y Ice Cream.  Along with my favorite old standby, Lemon Curd with fresh blueberries, all of these recipes combine lemon and blueberry flavors and are some of my favorite summer treats!

Very Blueberry-y Ice Cream:
Blueberry-Ice-CreamUse a food processor to blend 2 cups frozen berries,* 2 egg yolks,** 2 cups heavy cream, 1/4 cup maple syrup, and the zest and juice of half a lemon.  Add more syrup or other ingredients to taste.  I like adding more berries for a fruity-er treat.  Pour into an ice cream maker (if you have one*) and follow the machine’s directions to make your final product.  For popsicles, pour into popsicle molds or small paper cups, stick in popsicle sticks, and freeze.
*I don’t have an Ice Cream Maker, so I use frozen berries, put my slushy mixture into a bowl in the freezer, and mix with a whisk or fork after 2 and 4 hours.  If I make it around lunch time, it’s a nice consistency for an evening dessert.  If it’s really hard, I leave it out for a few minutes and then serve.  Alternatively, you can just enjoy it right away as a smoothie!
**If you don’t have a good source of pastured eggs, feel free to omit the yolks.

Lemon Curd:
lemonsUsing a carrot peeler, remove the zest of 3 lemons, then juice them, setting the juice aside for later.  Combine the zest with 1 1/2 cups sugar in a food processor, pulsing until the zest is very finely minced into the sugar.  Cream 1 stick of butter and beat in the sugar and lemon mixture. While mixing, add 4 large eggs, 1 at a time.  Finally,  add the juice of 3 lemons and a pinch of salt (if the butter was unsalted). Mix until combined.  Pour the mixture into a 2 quart saucepan and cook over low heat until thickened (about 10 minutes), stirring constantly.  Remove from the heat and cool or refrigerate.  Serve topped with fresh blueberries.

Blueberry-SodaNaturally Fermented Blueberry Soda:
I could type out all the steps, but others already have!  I used a recipe similar to this one. I learned about naturally fermenting sodas from Caroline, who writes about the process here.  I used a Ginger Bug to ferment my soda – growing it took about 5 days (when it was fizzy, it was ready).  I added 1 lemon (quartered, including juice and peel) to the recipe referenced in the links above. After brewing my soda, it took about 4 more days to reach my preferred balance of sour and sweet flavors.  I then bottled and capped it, left it out for about 8 hours to build up some fizz, and put it in the fridge.  Everyone LOVES it – it has a bright purple color, complex sour and sweet flavor, and delicate fizzyness.  Yum!

This entry was posted in Home Gardens, Personal Sustainability: How-To, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blueberry & Lemon: A Match Made in Heaven

  1. jolynnpowers says:

    just picked Elderberrys and have many more that i could pick and use this way ! love it

  2. Evan says:

    Blueberry and lemon … a match made in Charlotte!

Leave a Reply

