Drink for Good Health

elderberry-kombucha-1When it comes to drinks, I think I’ve found a match made in heaven: I call it Elderberry Kombucha Tonic.

elderberry-syrupI’ve been enjoying sips of Elderberry Syrup all winter long, especially when I feel a twinge in my throat or a tickle in my nose.  The recipe I follow, however, doesn’t have any sour flavors.  With the raw honey, it’s actually quite sweet.  Learn how to make your own by reading this past Growing Stories post.

KombuchaI’ve been brewing kombucha for a few years now and always have a jug of it in the fridge.  I think it’s a healthy, delicious, and refreshing alternative to soda or juice.  All the information you’d ever want to know about kombucha (and maybe more) is available at www.kombuchakamp.com, so I won’t go into too many details.

With elderberry syrup and kombucha sharing shelf space on the door of our refrigerator, I was bound to discover how well they mix sooner or later.  Mmmmm.  The flavors in both drinks are quite concentrated, so I like to add a few ice cubes or some club soda.  If you’re looking for a great alcoholic drink, dry mixing kombucha, elderberry syrup, and club soda with gin.

elderberry-kombucha-2

Cheers to your health in the new year!

Elderberry-Tonic

This entry was posted in Personal Sustainability: How-To, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drink for Good Health

  1. Debbie Katz says:

    I’ve been a little under the weather and very thirsty the last few days [including now when I’m going to make a smoothy.] So, the picture kills! [Especially since I’ve had a chance to sample this drink, the alcohol version to be specific!

Leave a Reply

