Quick, before the deep freeze!

brussels-sprout-winter-harvestFrom afar, it may seem like I’m completely on top of my house + garden chore list.  In reality, things are never quite as perfect as they seem in blog posts.  Though I’ve already switched gears from harvest season to calm quiet cozy indoor holiday preparations, there are still a few last things to do outside.  There’s nothing like a weather forecast for motivation!

This week’s temperatures are predicted to dip to 0°F – the tool gathering, parsnip digging, and last harvests can’t wait any longer.  Of course, it would have been ideal if I had done these things before the last snow storm, but life isn’t perfect.

winter-parsnip-harvestFrom the rocking chair in front of the wood stove, it looks pretty frigid and uninviting outside.  However, after I suit up and get to work, it feels as if a switch has flipped.  Snow sparkles around me.  My cheeks, warmed by digging, feel refreshed by the cold air.  The air smells incredibly fresh.  It is great to be outside!

The parsnips dug, frozen kohlrabi and cabbage rescued, Brussels sprouts plucked, stakes hammered in, and tools gathered, I head inside.  I have some kitchen work ahead of me.  Luckily, there is plenty of time in December afternoons between dusk and dinner time.

I clean up the less-than-perfect half frozen kohlrabi, cut them into sticks, and leave them on the counter in a salt water brine to pickle.  The completely frozen cabbage is sliced up for this tasty dish.  Brussels sprouts are trimmed and put in the fridge.  Parsnips, still dirty, are packed into a bag for cold storage.  The few that got cut by my shovel are scrubbed off, chopped up, fried, drizzled with maple syrup, and eaten for dinner.

brussles-on-cherry-board

Ahhhhh…. I am grateful to be able to enjoy the comfort of my cozy home as temperatures drop.  AND to not feel the burden of an incomplete “to-do” list of outdoor chores.  Stay warm everybody!

To read more about my favorite ways to cook winter-sweetened harvests of kale, Brussels sprouts, and parsnips, check out this post from December of 2013.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Quick, before the deep freeze!

  1. freshmuffin says:

    I really like this post! A good reminder that even though it’s nice and toasty inside, the outdoors can be energizing.

Leave a Reply

